2023 Arizona American Indian Excellence in Leadership Awards

We are excited to announce the winners of the 2023 Arizona American Indian Excellence in Leadership Awards. Awards are given in nine different categories, and nominees demonstrate dedication, leadership and commitment to the advancement and development of the cultural, educational, social, economic, or political welfare of the American Indian Community.  Join us on Thursday, Nov. 30th when we celebrate our honorees at the Heard Museum. Tickets and sponsorships available, click here to purchase. 

Kent C. Ware Lifetime Achievement Award – Ivan Makil (Salt River Pima Maricopa Indian Community)

Phyllis J. Bigpond Lifetime Achievement Award – Joy Hanley (Navajo)

Spirit of the Heard Award – Ofelia Zepeda (Tohono O’odham) 

Man of the Year – Shawn Martinez (Navajo)  

Woman of the Year – Dr. Michelle Huyser (Navajo)

Business of the Year – Urias Communications 

Friend of the Community – Katreena Hayes-Wood 

Volunteer of the Year – Reva Stewart (Navajo) 

College Students  of the Year –  Jalen Harvey (Navajo) and Artie Steele (San Carlos Apache)

High School Students of the Year – Elise Lamas (Tohono O’odham) and Michael Tupponce Jr. (Chickahominy Indian Tribe Eastern Division)



a 501(c) 3 non-profit recognized by the IRS. Tax ID Number: 86-6006566